Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG General Discussion




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 12
There needs to be a loading screen/window between Joining a server in the AA:PG Launcher client and the game actually loading up the game client for connecting to a server.

It is frustrating (as well as hassle) having to prompt windows to let AA:PG launcher client takes time to load the game client instead of going into a "stop-responding state".

Thank you

-Benediction


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:07 pm
Posts: 320
Location: St Louis, MO
Isn't that what the loading videos are for? Or do you want a loading screen that comes before the loading screen?

_________________
Image

Twitch.tv
Youtube channel


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Czervenia
maybe he wants a title screen?

even though he probably means nothing of the sort, i would like to think thats what he wants and have therefore signed him up for the..

+1 'titlescreen cause, complete with classic AA themetune' :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:38 pm
Posts: 121
I just hope that at some point in the next couple of years HISTORY and FAVORITES works.....


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:39 am
Posts: 102
SgtBadazz wrote:
I just hope that at some point in the next couple of years HISTORY and FAVORITES works.....


My favorites worked fine until about 2 days ago, then they all disappeared.

_________________
[Dev]TheTots wrote:
If this thread could be about the OP that would just be spectacular.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:00 pm
Posts: 287
Location: United States
SgtBadazz wrote:
I just hope that at some point in the next couple of years HISTORY and FAVORITES works.....


This:)

_________________
__________________________________________________________
When there's no more room online......the trolls will walk the earth.....


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 12
No, What I mean is: Currently there isn't a loading screen between clicking the "join server" button on the AA:PG Launcher and the game actually opening.

This takes up to 5-7 minutes to launch the game if I don't force the launcher window to stop -responding, When I force the window to respond, it only take up to 2 minutes.

Adding the loading screen will save me time and hassle to get into playing AA:PG, This is something I'd put in before Officially Releasing the game.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:41 am
Posts: 1512
Ben14715 wrote:
No, What I mean is: Currently there isn't a loading screen between clicking the "join server" button on the AA:PG Launcher and the game actually opening.

This takes up to 5-7 minutes to launch the game if I don't force the launcher window to stop -responding, When I force the window to respond, it only take up to 2 minutes.

Adding the loading screen will save me time and hassle to get into playing AA:PG, This is something I'd put in before Officially Releasing the game.


I click "Join Server" and get a pop-up message within 2 seconds. A second or two go by and the AAPG splash screen appears. Within 10 seconds, I get the actual AA Game window appearing.

If it's taking 5-7 minutes, sounds like something's wrong.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:38 pm
Posts: 121
Do you by chance have less than 4Gb RAM or a 5400rpm HDD?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Czervenia
ahhh, your probably trying to join a Usermade map, its the shaders building for the map on your PC, at least thats what it sounds like anyway.

if this is the case, go to Editor > Manage and click on the yellow 'Build' text next to the map you want to join.. which will build the shaders for that map, this way the map will load up a lot faster. after the first time of loading the black screen thing goes away and the map loads normally.

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron