Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG General Discussion




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 541
uni-sol wrote:
ahhh, your probably trying to join a Usermade map, its the shaders building for the map on your PC, at least thats what it sounds like anyway.


Pretty sure that happens once you get to the loading videos screen.

It sounds like the launcher's not responding hang when you join a server that lasts a few seconds for most of us is lasting minutes for him.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 12
Nope I have 32 GB of RAM Memory, so its definitely not that.

It happen whenever I joining any server, I actually haven't joined a user-made map at all this year (2015).

The same happens every time I click the "Join Server" button.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:56 pm
Posts: 35
Ben14715 wrote:
Nope I have 32 GB of RAM Memory, so its definitely not that.

It happen whenever I joining any server, I actually haven't joined a user-made map at all this year (2015).

The same happens every time I click the "Join Server" button.


8GB RAM, sadly not owner of SSD yet here, game is loading in 1-2 minutes. After clicking the join server button I get a black box behind the launcher and after waiting for some seconds my game opens in full screen mode. If I click into the black box once my launcher instantly crashes. I can't be the only one having that right? :D

_________________
My montages (Playlist)

Image
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:38 pm
Posts: 23
Necabo(;.) wrote:
Ben14715 wrote:
Nope I have 32 GB of RAM Memory, so its definitely not that.

It happen whenever I joining any server, I actually haven't joined a user-made map at all this year (2015).

The same happens every time I click the "Join Server" button.


8GB RAM, sadly not owner of SSD yet here, game is loading in 1-2 minutes. After clicking the join server button I get a black box behind the launcher and after waiting for some seconds my game opens in full screen mode. If I click into the black box once my launcher instantly crashes. I can't be the only one having that right? :D


you are not alone, my dear... Its a buggy AA Launcher... It works via Internet Explorer...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:42 pm
Posts: 31
Does anyone know why modern games seem to prefer using a separate browser/launcher for joining servers over an ingame browser like we had in AA2/CoD4/CS?

I can't think of a game with an external browser as the primary means for joining a server that provided a good user experience.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
easymode wrote:
Does anyone know why modern games seem to prefer using a separate browser/launcher for joining servers over an ingame browser like we had in AA2/CoD4/CS?

I can't think of a game with an external browser as the primary means for joining a server that provided a good user experience.

A error in the browser/launcher dont directly affect the game, and could at times make critical fixes easier.
It's mainly useful for developers, not so much for players.

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 541
frankof wrote:
easymode wrote:
Does anyone know why modern games seem to prefer using a separate browser/launcher for joining servers over an ingame browser like we had in AA2/CoD4/CS?

I can't think of a game with an external browser as the primary means for joining a server that provided a good user experience.

A error in the browser/launcher dont directly affect the game, and could at times make critical fixes easier.
It's mainly useful for developers, not so much for players.


I'm under the impression an in-game browser is part of release. Am I imagining things?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Czervenia
i hope so! titlescreen too!

my hopes are very high for such things. please do not crush them.

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please add a loading screen
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 60
What he's talking about is this:

https://vid.me/zvhk

I try to join the server at 0:08 in the video. It finally unfreezes at the end of the video, so I waited a little over two minutes just to join a server from the launcher.

This issue doesn't happen when joining off someone from steam, and sometimes(but not all the time) if I leave a server that I've joined from the launcher and try to join another one, it'll load right up. Some times, it'll go back to the freezing.

This issue also started just randomly happening. I didn't have this issue for about a year of playing. One day I get on to play, and I have the issue. No explanation for it, no setting changes made or anything of the sort, no update on that day..it just started happening. I've tried completely reinstalling the game, doesn't fix it, nor does verifying the game files or w/e through steam.

Ignore the map error thing that pops up at the end, that's a different issue by itself(though hardly an inconvenience).


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: