Board index » America's Army - General » R&R




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:37 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Tahlequah, OK
How much of a performance loss am I going to suffer if I substitute lesser brands for, say, the RAM or hard drive?

_________________
Image
Silent^Reaper was here....
Wealth is the product of man's capacity to think.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 8:00 pm
Posts: 89
Location: 21 Jump Street
Depends on how much you skimp and and what brands. I wouldn't go with a Seagate HDD, I've seen too many of them fail. Whatever the brand, I recommend 7200RPM minimum for best performance.

Here's a cheaper alternative HDD:

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3

I made a small mistake on the RAM in my previous post. The kit I linked to runs at 1.65v which can cause problems with Sandy Bridge CPUs. This set has the correct voltage(1.5v) and is cheaper:

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB

_________________
Image

ASUS P5N-D • Q6700 @ 3.3GHz • WD 500GB • Intel 40GB SSD • Vista Ultimate x64 • 4GB G.Skill PQ
MSI GTX460 Hawk • Samsung 245BW • X-Fi XtremeMusic • ATH-A700 • Logitech G5 • G11 • G13


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 52
I have originally bought this system for office works (then I realized I turn into a gamer at night...)

GIGABYTE
Intel E8400
2Gb Kingston Dual channel 667-DDR2
Sapphire HD 3650 PCIe 512MB-DDR2 (scroll down for specs)
PSU 500W (no brand) (no 6-pin power for GPU) don't know about Amperes and such.

since my mobo doesn't support faster RAM or a higher CPU, I figured out that the GPU is the bottleneck in here so I decided to Upgrade.

I'm thinking:
Sapphire HD 6670 1GB GDDR5 (No power cable required)
Sapphire HD 6750 1GB GDDR5 (require power cable)
Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 (requires power cable)
GIGABYTE GTX 560 (requires 2x 6-pin power)
HIS HD 6870 (requires 2x 6-pin power)

last 2 cards are highly unlikely to work due to my unreliable (cheap) PSU, and they are somewhat out of my budget
I rather not strain my unbranded PSU so I prefer the HD 6670.
but the 6750 and 6770 are one league higher for ~$20

I know any of these cards will be almost x4 better than what I have today, but...

1. Do you think I should go for the 6750/6770 with my current PSU ? (I can use a power adapter but this doesn't change the fact I have a lame PSU)

2. is there a better offering at the NVIDIA camp (below $120) against the 6670, 6750, 6770 ? (Sapphire offers DiRT3 free with HD 6000 series)

3. What card will be enough for me to enjoy AA3 at 1680x1050 all High, x16AF, x4 AA ?
currently I play on 1280x800 Medium, no AA @28-35 FPS

4. I red on a forum that 1GB is too much for mainstream cards (6670/6750/6770) and since these cards will not be playing Ultra quality settings, 512MB is enough,
Q: Is it true ? 512MB are enough? these cards will never fill the 1GB ? Is it wise to save a few bucks and go for 512MB ?

[*]I'm not into upgrading my PSU as this PC is primarily for office.

[*]Thank you for reading this far, feel free to contribute and share your thoughts.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:22 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
Sins the PSU is unknown its really hard to tell what would happen, worst case scenario, it will fry and take your mobo with it in the fall.
I seen cheap brand units go up in smoke already at 75% load.

My first priority would be to get a good PSU, the fact that your current one misses out on vital connectors for a modern system is sort of a tell tale sign that its really low performance.

1&2 PSU limited.

3. Not so much the card, about any mid/high range card from the last 3 years will in most cases work well, but you can forget about AA unless you go hi-range.

4. theres no reason to look for a 512mb card, 1680x1020 is fairly high res. so 1gb is better, if its the faster type of vram(GDDR5)

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 52
Can you recommend me a PSU ?
how many W do I need ?
how many Amps ?

My system is above, plus WD SATA 7200rpm, LG DVD SATA, 1 big side fan (bigger than 120mm ), cpu intel fan, and 80mm rear fan. + the new GPU you recommend so I can play AA3 at 1680x1050 all High, x16AF.

these are the brands available at my favorite store:
Golden Tiger
Chieftec
Corsair
Thermaltake
Antec
Enermax
SeaSonic

Quote:
It's important to match the capacity of a power supply to the power needs of the computer. The energy efficiency of power supplies drops significantly at low loads. Efficiency generally peaks at about 50-75% load.
Although a too-large power supply will have an extra margin of safety as far as not over-loading, a larger unit is often less efficient at lower loads (under 20% of its total capability) and therefore will waste more electricity than a more appropriately sized unit.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
Corsair AX, HX or TX series, around 500W will be plenty enough (I think 650W is the smallest one left in those series), the CX series is made up of cheaper components, but not as bad as the really cheap brands. (Corsair and a lot of others is oem build enermax or seasonic psu's, they dont make their own psu's)

I run a Corsair 550W, E8500@3.8Ghz, WD black and blue drives(one of each), dual 4870 (crossfire), some 120mm and 140mm fans and a x-fi with a frontbay, so far no issues with lacking power.

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 52
frankof wrote:
Corsair AX, HX or TX series, around 500W will be plenty enough (I think 650W is the smallest one left in those series), the CX series is made up of cheaper components, but not as bad as the really cheap brands. (Corsair and a lot of others is oem build enermax or seasonic psu's, they dont make their own psu's)

I run a Corsair 550W, E8500@3.8Ghz, WD black and blue drives(one of each), dual 4870 (crossfire), some 120mm and 140mm fans and a x-fi with a frontbay, so far no issues with lacking power.


you have a far higher power demands than me yet a 550W quality brand is enough, I'll need much less.
I used a power requirements calculator and the sum was 300W, so I will be just fine with a quality 400-450 right ?

The AX/HX are too expensive and around 1KW, it's overkill for me, the CX are more suitable for my needs, do you recommend Golden Tiger ? they have 6pin and 6+2pin connectors and modular cables., but it doesn't say continuous power which is not good.

here are some good options:
Antec Neo Eco 450C 80 PLUS, modular, certificates,Continuous Power, No power cord included. I do prefer to get a new power cord.

I checked my current PSU it has:
+12v1 15A max
+12v2 16A max
+5v 16A MAX
+3.3v 22A max
-12v 0.8A max
+5v/SB 2.5A max

it may be sufficient for an HD 6670 after all ?


Last edited by Monica on Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
Monica wrote:
you have a far higher power demands than me yet a 550W quality brand is enough, I'll need much less.
I used a power requirements calculator and the sum was 300W, so I will be just fine with a quality 400-450 right ?

I checked my current PSU is has:
+12v1 15A max
+12v2 16A max
+5v 16A MAX
+3.3v 22A max
-12v 0.8A max
+5v/SB 2.5A max

it may be sufficient for an HD 6670 after all ?

As it has a dual rail 12V solution, you need to pay real attention to how you load it, available outtake on one 12v rail is 180w, but i doubt it will run to well with 2x180w
(Funny how the 3.3v is spec'ed at 22A, its mostly used for hotswap bays etc)

But yeah, a good 450W will be enough for that rig and a "normal" video card.

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 8:00 pm
Posts: 89
Location: 21 Jump Street
Sorted by order of quality:

SeaSonic
Corsair
Antec
Enermax
Thermaltake
Cheiftec
Golden Tiger

Thermaltake would be the lowest one I would buy.

That said, the 6670 should work fine with your current PSU as long as it isn't from a poor quality brand. Should be a nice boost in performance if you go with the GDDR5 version.

_________________
Image

ASUS P5N-D • Q6700 @ 3.3GHz • WD 500GB • Intel 40GB SSD • Vista Ultimate x64 • 4GB G.Skill PQ
MSI GTX460 Hawk • Samsung 245BW • X-Fi XtremeMusic • ATH-A700 • Logitech G5 • G11 • G13


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R&R Official: Computer Help Thread
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 52
frankof wrote:
As it has a dual rail 12V solution, you need to pay real attention to how you load it,
how do I split the load between the two ?
do each rail have a separate cable ?

I have 1 big cable for the mobo
4 pin for CPU
Sata power for HDD
molex to sata power adapter for DVD
2 molex for 140mm side fan and 80mm rear fan

how do I balance them ?

this is my PSU http://www.amazon.co.uk/Colors-500W-Sil ... B000KGYFO6


Last edited by Monica on Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14  Next

Board index » America's Army - General » R&R


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron