America's Army Forums
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/

[Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=13291
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Altan_AA [ Fri May 02, 2014 7:10 am ]
Post subject:  [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

This is a repost of a tutorial I wrote for aa-maps.net

This a example how a map can be setup to have random Objective, one of the three objectives will be active.
This is my first time doing something in Kismet, so feel free to criticize if I've done something wrong.
I'm not even sure that this is the best way to do it, just that it works when I did it and tested in SINGLEPLAYER.

Use the Mission Editor(Limited)
Create a new Map, use the template ”Activate”

http://i58.tinypic.com/w9ibfm.png

Start the Objective Editor and Remove the ”Win” event, then drag new events from each of the Objective to ”B”, this will make any of objectives able to win the match.

This is the final look of the objective view
http://i57.tinypic.com/2a7bk35.png

Now open up the same Map in the full editor


Start Kistmet
View/UlrealKismet

Add a new Event(Right click in the grey workspace)
New Event/Game/Match Start
http://i62.tinypic.com/vq2j3p.png

Add a new Action
New Action/Switch/Random

Select the new action and change link count to 3(We have 3 objectives)
Connect the Match Start Event with Random/In
http://i58.tinypic.com/160v2mo.png

Add 6 New Actions
New Action/Object Property/Modify Propery
And link them like this

http://i58.tinypic.com/25i29au.png
This a table of the content of the 6 Actions, fill in the info into the properties of all 6 Actions
http://i57.tinypic.com/j606qe.png

This is the first Modify Property
http://i61.tinypic.com/281cbb.png

(In the above example I've set Output Obj Comment To Screen to True, for a real map you should make sure that it's set to False)

Rebuild and testplay.
The 3 Objectives in still there, but only one is active.

Author:  Altan_AA [ Fri May 02, 2014 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

I reread the tutorial and it might not work, but below is the views I ended up with when I added Random objective to AA2 Border

Here is the Kismet:
Image

Each random Link enables 1 objective and disables the other 4.

Here is the Objective View, don't get scared, it looks messy, but it's just 5 paths of the same path as 1 normal Extract looks like:

Image

Author:  [DeltaFr]Eagle [ Fri May 02, 2014 7:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

Nice job on finding how to do that ;) ! I have to imagine that it will be used for courtyard :D

Thanks for sharing anyway :D

Author:  xinon [ Fri May 02, 2014 8:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

Thanks for sharing.

Author:  -=}WoLvErInE{=- [ Fri May 02, 2014 8:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

Thanks Altan. You're doing some great stuff for the community! Your work is appreciated!

Author:  ProphetOfDoom [ Fri May 02, 2014 4:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!

Author:  JaK- [ Fri May 02, 2014 5:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

ProphetOfDoom wrote:
From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!



He's the original programmer of -ACI-'s PBSS Collector if you didn't know :)

Author:  m_hermann [ Fri May 02, 2014 10:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

JaK- wrote:
ProphetOfDoom wrote:
From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!



He's the original programmer of -ACI-'s PBSS Collector if you didn't know :)


Also several other epic programs as well from AA1/2.

Author:  adcantu [ Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

Hey guys I know this is an old thread but I used the tutorial today. Thanks for this!

So one issue I found with this method is that all the flags are visible on the map, so in the properties I set all flags to hidden, then added a toggle hidden, for each link unhide to unhide that flag. Now only the active flag is visible in game.

http://i.imgur.com/VErsioK.gif

Author:  ={KTS}=DELTATHUND3R [ Sun Apr 12, 2015 10:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives

A simpler way ..
There's an option in properties of each obj"AdvancedObjective" uncheck ENABLE

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/