Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Tutorials and Assets




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Posts: 764
This is a repost of a tutorial I wrote for aa-maps.net

This a example how a map can be setup to have random Objective, one of the three objectives will be active.
This is my first time doing something in Kismet, so feel free to criticize if I've done something wrong.
I'm not even sure that this is the best way to do it, just that it works when I did it and tested in SINGLEPLAYER.

Use the Mission Editor(Limited)
Create a new Map, use the template ”Activate”

http://i58.tinypic.com/w9ibfm.png

Start the Objective Editor and Remove the ”Win” event, then drag new events from each of the Objective to ”B”, this will make any of objectives able to win the match.

This is the final look of the objective view
http://i57.tinypic.com/2a7bk35.png

Now open up the same Map in the full editor


Start Kistmet
View/UlrealKismet

Add a new Event(Right click in the grey workspace)
New Event/Game/Match Start
http://i62.tinypic.com/vq2j3p.png

Add a new Action
New Action/Switch/Random

Select the new action and change link count to 3(We have 3 objectives)
Connect the Match Start Event with Random/In
http://i58.tinypic.com/160v2mo.png

Add 6 New Actions
New Action/Object Property/Modify Propery
And link them like this

http://i58.tinypic.com/25i29au.png
This a table of the content of the 6 Actions, fill in the info into the properties of all 6 Actions
http://i57.tinypic.com/j606qe.png

This is the first Modify Property
http://i61.tinypic.com/281cbb.png

(In the above example I've set Output Obj Comment To Screen to True, for a real map you should make sure that it's set to False)

Rebuild and testplay.
The 3 Objectives in still there, but only one is active.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 7:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Posts: 764
I reread the tutorial and it might not work, but below is the views I ended up with when I added Random objective to AA2 Border

Here is the Kismet:
Image

Each random Link enables 1 objective and disables the other 4.

Here is the Objective View, don't get scared, it looks messy, but it's just 5 paths of the same path as 1 normal Extract looks like:

Image

_________________
Image


Last edited by Altan_AA on Fri May 02, 2014 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:41 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Belgium
Nice job on finding how to do that ;) ! I have to imagine that it will be used for courtyard :D

Thanks for sharing anyway :D

_________________
Eagle
- AA players since 1.3 :P ! -
- [DeltaFr] In Frag We Trust 'n Frag We Do ! -
- [ Join our server - SSHD, 120 Ticks, Extremely low ping ] -


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:32 am
Posts: 1435
Location: Portugal
Thanks for sharing.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
Thanks Altan. You're doing some great stuff for the community! Your work is appreciated!

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 302
From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!

_________________
Image

Joined Friday the 13th '13?
ProphetOfDoom?
Sounds Fishy.....


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 4049
Location: Behind you, Boo!
ProphetOfDoom wrote:
From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!



He's the original programmer of -ACI-'s PBSS Collector if you didn't know :)

_________________
Image
-ACI- Launcher Mod (Auto-Installer)
Custom Loading Screen Video's
Image
Steam --> ℑąƙ
Stats --> ℑąƙ



Quote:
Only because a mod asked nicely.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 10:50 pm 
Offline
Volunteer Community Manager
Volunteer Community Manager

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 3695
JaK- wrote:
ProphetOfDoom wrote:
From What I remember ELiZ has been doing a lot for a long time. Thanks for your hard work!!!



He's the original programmer of -ACI-'s PBSS Collector if you didn't know :)


Also several other epic programs as well from AA1/2.

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:43 pm 
Offline
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:26 pm
Posts: 10
Hey guys I know this is an old thread but I used the tutorial today. Thanks for this!

So one issue I found with this method is that all the flags are visible on the map, so in the properties I set all flags to hidden, then added a toggle hidden, for each link unhide to unhide that flag. Now only the active flag is visible in game.

http://i.imgur.com/VErsioK.gif


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tutorial] How to create Random Objectives
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 10:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:06 pm
Posts: 640
A simpler way ..
There's an option in properties of each obj"AdvancedObjective" uncheck ENABLE


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Tutorials and Assets


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron