Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:00 pm
Posts: 1212
Location: VIP Room
I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload

_________________
Image
Image
- Join Our clan -


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:56 pm 
Offline
Developer
Developer

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:05 pm
Posts: 238
Yes Swarm works. Yes it speeds up build times. Production Lighting Hospital in 2.5 hours actually isn't terrible though.

You would probably be best off searching the interwebs for how to properly set it up. Your SwarmAgent.exe should be found in AAJR/Binaries

Obviously you will need to have other computers on your LAN that have Swarm set up as well.

_________________
Have map feedback? Email us at: mapfeedback@americasarmy.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Czervenia
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=12949&p=123450

[Dev]DeltaKilo wrote:
You would want to distribute over a LAN, not external network, unless you have a fiber connection...

Swarm Coordinator

    Identify a machine that you want to be the coordinator
    Go to \AAPG\Binaries\ on the desired coordinator machine
    Launch SwarmCoordinator.exe
    Take note of the IP address for the coordinator PC

Swarm Agent

    Figure out what machines you want to help with the builds.
    Go to \AAPG\Binaries\ on each of the helping machines.
    Launch SwarmAgent.exe
    Switch to the Settings Tab
  • AllowedRemoteAgentNames = * 1 CoordinatorRemotingHost = [host IP address]
  • CoordinatorRemotingHost = machine name of host
  • Close Swarm Agent for changes to take effect.

Test

    Open Editor and Rebuild lighting in a map
    Look at the Swarm Coordinator, make sure the clients name is listed.

The coordinator can run on the same machine as one of the agents.

Swarm documentation from Unreal is located here:
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Swarm.html
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Devel...#Swarm%20Setup

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
_V@POR_ wrote:
I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload



WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:00 pm
Posts: 287
Location: United States
-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
_V@POR_ wrote:
I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload



WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:


LOL...Wolvy:)
Nvidia/Intel system.....no problem...now if he were running AMD....I would be worried!

_________________
__________________________________________________________
When there's no more room online......the trolls will walk the earth.....


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:00 pm
Posts: 1212
Location: VIP Room
Runs great wolverine :P

_________________
Image
Image
- Join Our clan -


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:50 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:

Bah, modern computers are pretty efficient.
You can run any modern single card setup on less than 500W PSU, including AMD.
(consumer pc's)

The general audience thinks that "more is better" so they tend to get PSU's that are way over the top instead of getting what they actually need.

And given the choice, they will get a 1000W china psu with ripple from hell and underspec'ed caps over a 500W quality PSU, especially if the 500W costs more.


Sorry for the side track

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
Yeah it's been a while since I've built one. Been mostly winning them in mapping Contest :mrgreen:


This was this past year. http://www.505games.com/rekoil-map-maki ... ompetition

:mrgreen:

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 3835
Location: Gothenborg, SWE
-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
Yeah it's been a while since I've built one. Been mostly winning them in mapping Contest :mrgreen:


This was this past year. http://www.505games.com/rekoil-map-maki ... ompetition

:mrgreen:

lol, i see why you keep on mapping, keep it up :mrgreen:

_________________
Image Image
Games don't create violence, lag does!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to speed up swarm processing?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Czervenia
i use a Corsair CS550M 550w, got it while it was on sale after my old 700w PSU gave up the ghost, its plenty for non-crossfire use and got some great feedback from the guy behind the counter who actually owns one himself, i plan to use it on my new rig too :mrgreen:

as they say, "its not the size of the boat".. :lol:

you kept that gaming rig win quiet Wolvie ,thats awesome! :)

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron