America's Army Forums
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/

How to speed up swarm processing?
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=17157
Page 1 of 1

Author:  _V@POR_ [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:33 pm ]
Post subject:  How to speed up swarm processing?

I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload

Author:  [Dev]Rawrster [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

Yes Swarm works. Yes it speeds up build times. Production Lighting Hospital in 2.5 hours actually isn't terrible though.

You would probably be best off searching the interwebs for how to properly set it up. Your SwarmAgent.exe should be found in AAJR/Binaries

Obviously you will need to have other computers on your LAN that have Swarm set up as well.

Author:  uni-sol [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=12949&p=123450

[Dev]DeltaKilo wrote:
You would want to distribute over a LAN, not external network, unless you have a fiber connection...

Swarm Coordinator

    Identify a machine that you want to be the coordinator
    Go to \AAPG\Binaries\ on the desired coordinator machine
    Launch SwarmCoordinator.exe
    Take note of the IP address for the coordinator PC

Swarm Agent

    Figure out what machines you want to help with the builds.
    Go to \AAPG\Binaries\ on each of the helping machines.
    Launch SwarmAgent.exe
    Switch to the Settings Tab
  • AllowedRemoteAgentNames = * 1 CoordinatorRemotingHost = [host IP address]
  • CoordinatorRemotingHost = machine name of host
  • Close Swarm Agent for changes to take effect.

Test

    Open Editor and Rebuild lighting in a map
    Look at the Swarm Coordinator, make sure the clients name is listed.

The coordinator can run on the same machine as one of the agents.

Swarm documentation from Unreal is located here:
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Swarm.html
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Devel...#Swarm%20Setup

Author:  -=}WoLvErInE{=- [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

_V@POR_ wrote:
I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload



WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:

Author:  {NWO}Hawk [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
_V@POR_ wrote:
I read a topic somewhere how you can add other pc's on your network to process things like building lighting (swarm) etc.....

Anyone have a guide or info on this? Or does it even work or benefit massive build times? I'm building production lighting for a stripped down inner hospital map at about 2.5 hours. Is that good or bad? Seems bad....lol

My Pc specs:
Msi G77A-G43 mobo
Intel i5 3570K
Nvidia 970 GTX
Seasonic Bronze 620 watt psu
8 gb Gskil Ares DDR3
250 gb corsair neutron ssd
1.5 tb western digital 7200 rpm hd
1 tb maxtor 7200 rpm hd
50 Mbps Download/5 Mbps Upload



WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:


LOL...Wolvy:)
Nvidia/Intel system.....no problem...now if he were running AMD....I would be worried!

Author:  _V@POR_ [ Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

Runs great wolverine :P

Author:  frankof [ Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
WoW really? and your pc is still running? :mrgreen: It goes to show what I know about power supplies. :oops:

Bah, modern computers are pretty efficient.
You can run any modern single card setup on less than 500W PSU, including AMD.
(consumer pc's)

The general audience thinks that "more is better" so they tend to get PSU's that are way over the top instead of getting what they actually need.

And given the choice, they will get a 1000W china psu with ripple from hell and underspec'ed caps over a 500W quality PSU, especially if the 500W costs more.


Sorry for the side track

Author:  -=}WoLvErInE{=- [ Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

Yeah it's been a while since I've built one. Been mostly winning them in mapping Contest :mrgreen:


This was this past year. http://www.505games.com/rekoil-map-maki ... ompetition

:mrgreen:

Author:  frankof [ Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

-=}WoLvErInE{=- wrote:
Yeah it's been a while since I've built one. Been mostly winning them in mapping Contest :mrgreen:


This was this past year. http://www.505games.com/rekoil-map-maki ... ompetition

:mrgreen:

lol, i see why you keep on mapping, keep it up :mrgreen:

Author:  uni-sol [ Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to speed up swarm processing?

i use a Corsair CS550M 550w, got it while it was on sale after my old 700w PSU gave up the ghost, its plenty for non-crossfire use and got some great feedback from the guy behind the counter who actually owns one himself, i plan to use it on my new rig too :mrgreen:

as they say, "its not the size of the boat".. :lol:

you kept that gaming rig win quiet Wolvie ,thats awesome! :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/