Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 246
Having an issue with some of the rocks in my map.
When you get up on them and push in you can see through them.
Is their an easy fix?
Right now I have to rotate, resize or delete.
Thanks

_________________
[JTF-3] Radical_Magic63


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 1149
Location: Ontario, Canada
Easy fix is probably to make a custom blocking volume around the rock until testing show you can't clip through the object anymore.

Your problem happens when you use a mesh with "simple collision." The game isn't really looking at the visual edges, but an approximate geometric collision that comes with the asset. Hit "C" in the editor to see your simple collision assets. They will have pinkish lines in them.

If you have complex collision on the object, it will be accurate. This requires an export and re-import if you're going to do it with some of the stock assets. I did the same thing with a couple rocks with Wolvy's help. This makes the surface of the object become the collision surface. Works nicely! (In fact, I bet you're having problems with the same rocks I did. PM me and I'll email you the "rocks.upk" file that Wolvy helped me with!)

Some meshes you can walk right through! Some trees are like that.

One negative of complex collision can be more "stutter" as the player approaches the object. The game is trying to step up onto it.

(Please forgive me if you know some of this. I also try to type it for other readers. :) )


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 246
Np Will give that a try thanks

_________________
[JTF-3] Radical_Magic63


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 1149
Location: Ontario, Canada
Post the names of the rocks you're having issues with. Is it...

StaticMesh'Props_RockPiles_01.StaticMeshes.rocks_rubble_dirt_02_CMZ_SMesh'

or

StaticMesh'Props_Rocks_01.StaticMeshes.cliff.Cliff_Rock_01_CMZ_SMesh'

??

I have them with Complex Collision set on them. 450kb ZIP file.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 246
Will do when I get home today

_________________
[JTF-3] Radical_Magic63


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
Thx KeebZ. Rad, if it's not the same ones Keebler is talking about, hit me up in TS and we'll work it out.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 246
Rock singles. The map I have them in is TropicalIslande.
When I press c to see collision my screen zooms in.

_________________
[JTF-3] Radical_Magic63


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 1149
Location: Ontario, Canada
Are you in the advanced editor? Hmmm. WOLLLLLLLVYYYYYYY!!!!! :D

https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/EditorButtons.html


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
It's alt+c

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transparent Rocks
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 1149
Location: Ontario, Canada
What is?

UDK wrote:
These are lesser-used, but handy keyboard shortcuts.

•A + LMB | Add the currently selected (from actor browser menu) actor
•B | Toggle builder brush on/off
•C | Toggle collision cylinders on/off
•D | Toggles viewport realtime mode on/off

etc


Hitting "C" gives me collision.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron