Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:26 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Austin, TX
I'm trying to update a map I created with the Editor several versions back. Everything works fine until I try to optimize cover. If I select Optimize Cover (on it's own or with any other combination of selections) and click build the Editor crashes. There are some cover points that are bad but I didn't intend those to be actual cover points.

Any ideas?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
As long as I can remember the covernodes have been a problem with ME/UDK. I've had problems with them in the past in other games as well. Try this...Select all your covernodes copy them to clipboard then delete the. After you delete them paste them back in , it should allow you to modify them without crashing.

Make sure you make back up of your map first.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:26 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Austin, TX
I have tried everything. I even deleted every map file on my computer, reinstalled AA completely and copied my map back in. Opened it and saved it as a different name, deleted everything again and copied the newly named map back in.

I have deleted all the cover nodes and even deleted all the locations that were causing any warnings about problems with cover (pawn won't fit). Still as soon as I try to build with optimize cover checked it crashes. In the main editor it crashes as well.

Any other ideas? I have a lot of custom decals in here as well as objects that were copied and pasted in from other stock maps.

Creating a new map and saving it does not cause this problem when I do a build.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Posts: 764
Any clues in the log file?

The Pylon might also be involved in the cover build.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:26 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Austin, TX
[0076.25] Log: MISSION EDITOR - Building BuildCover: Complete
[0076.26] Log: MISSION EDITOR - Building BuildComplete: Complete
[0080.48] Log: MISSION EDITOR - Building OptimizeCover: Optimizing Cover Links...
[0095.94] Log: === Critical error: ===
Fatal error!

Address = 0x2bbfb8de (filename not found) [in E:\steam\steamapps\common\America's Army\AAPG\Binaries\ME64\AAMissionEditor.exe]
Address = 0x2bc0ccc6 (filename not found) [in E:\steam\steamapps\common\America's Army\AAPG\Binaries\ME64\AAMissionEditor.exe]
Address = 0x2bc0d576 (filename not found) [in E:\steam\steamapps\common\America's Army\AAPG\Binaries\ME64\AAMissionEditor.exe]
Address = 0xe778314e (filename not found)
Address = 0x1 (filename not found)
Address = 0x3f57210 (filename not found)
Address = 0x580abd0 (filename not found)
Address = 0x1 (filename not found)
Address = 0x1 (filename not found)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
You mind sending me a copy of the map so i can look at it?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:45 pm
Posts: 1442
Location: Chi-Town
Please let me know if you got the pm? Some times my pm's acts weird. I fixed the cover issue, and re-built lighting. works fine now.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optimize Cover Crash
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:26 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Austin, TX
Thanks for the help you offered. Still not working for me though. I'm starting to wonder if I have an OS problem that is causing this. What OS were you running when you did the build for me?

I'm on Win 8.1 Pro and it still crashes on me as soon as it goes to build any time I have optimize cover selected.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » America's Army - Mission Editor » Mission Editor - Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron