Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG Server Support




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:49 am
Posts: 8
Hi All,

I'll start off by saying not computer illiterate but port forwarding has always baffled me even when I would try to host one back in the day. Now I know which ports have to be forwarded but I'm just not sure if i'm doing it right.

UDP 9987
UDP 7778
UDP 8765
UDP 8778
TCP/UDP 27000-27030

Those are the ports, yes? and i'm confused as to what TCP/UDP 27000-27030 means exactly. I'm attaching a SS of my port forwarding in my router and would like to know if it is right. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated guy, thank you!

http://i61.tinypic.com/rvf01s.jpg


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:09 am 
Offline
Volunteer Community Manager
Volunteer Community Manager

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 3695
It actually depends on your router. I don't have anything forwarded. Forwarding might be required to run a server.

27000-27030 means all 31 ports have to be forwarded. (27000 > 27000, 27001 > 27001, etc)

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:49 am
Posts: 8
Thank you so much for the reply m_hermann, I believe I do have to forward the ports because it never worked before with doing so. That is pretty much what I figured I just didn't want to have to manually go in and do 31 ports. I also believe I forwarded the ports wrong as well? because it says UDP port any to 9987 and so on, am I wrong there?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 3:57 pm 
Offline
Volunteer Community Manager
Volunteer Community Manager

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 3695
right, you are wrong

9987 > 9987 and so on

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:49 am
Posts: 8
Alright well I think I did the ports right? Here's a picture of what it is. http://i57.tinypic.com/e9eop0.jpg

I would check the ports to be open on http://www.canyouseeme.org and it still says they are closed and I've tried a bunch of different ways. As well as disabling Avast! windows firewall/defender and all other security as well as using DMZ on the router all to no avail.

Also when I try to start the server I always get the "Warning: Mass did not have valid server mode for non-Lan Server. Trying again in 15.00000 seconds."

That just keeps repeating and nothing ever happens. I always struggle to get these AA servers up and running. Again I really appreciate the help!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:49 am
Posts: 8
Alright new problem, Still not entirely sure about the ports but I've moved past the did not have valid server mode problem. Now I'm getting the "INFORMATION: Attribute update timer set to 30.0000 seconds" and still nothing. Along with that the game would crash about 10 seconds into opening the laucher with the browser and all say it encountered a problem and needed to close. So I verified the files with steam and 5 were corrupt so I fixed it and got it to run again but now I'm getting this error http://i61.tinypic.com/whfgqq.jpg

I seem to be moving forward but with just more errors now then before.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:49 am
Posts: 8
Now I'm getting this lovely error "warning: failure updating steam game server status: steam not initialized


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:00 pm
Posts: 287
Location: United States
Find your routers model number on the back side, and look it up on this site:

http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm

It should help you in forwarding ports on your particular router.

Did you setup a static IP in Windows yet?

_________________
__________________________________________________________
When there's no more room online......the trolls will walk the earth.....


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:24 am 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Think of your Router as a brick wall protecting your PC from the internet.

Each brick (port) in the wall has a number, and you can tell your router to open a hole by removing a brick. There are two types of brick, TCP and UDP which are used for different types of data

AA wants to go through a particular set of holes in your wall but its not enough to tell your router to open the hole as it still needs to get to your PC from your router. The port forward bit tells the router where to send the information ie from the internet <-> Hole in wall <-> Your PCs IP address.

Most routers operate on the basis of:

1) Select the port # you want to open
2) Tell it what ip (your PC/Server) to forward the information to

Because there are thousands of possible bricks in your wall you can group the numbers together ie

TCP/UDP 27000-27030

This just means

Open both types of hole with numbers between 27000 and 27030 ie 30 holes

Hope this makes sense.

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: port forwarding help
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:41 am
Posts: 27
Open your server manager, goto Advanced port options , click on "Auto Configure Server Instance Ports"

Open the ports configured for your server in the colom on the right

(dont forget to hit ok and save)

Make sure the ports are open in windows firewall aswell(try running without firewall first)

explained as image
http://i.imgur.com/fwLIUFy.png


Also make sure to use the correct server authentication username/pass, and your server should be running fine


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » America's Army: Proving Grounds » AA:PG Server Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron