America's Army Forums
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/

Dev Tip : IP Addressing
http://archive2.forum.americasarmy.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6413
Page 1 of 2

Author:  GBGangsta [ Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:35 am ]
Post subject:  Dev Tip : IP Addressing

Just a quick pointer regarding IP addressing for Server and Auth.

The IP Address needs to be a static Public IP address, if you are in doubt as to what your address is you can go to http://www.ipchicken.com and it will tell you.

Dynamic IP addresses whilst technically speaking are public IP addresses, in the context of servers are not suitable. This is for two reasons, 1) As soon as your IP address changes no one will be able to access your server and 2) as soon as your IP address changes you will no longer be able to auth against the database.

The same goes for Dynamic DNS as our auth system only understands IP address not host names.

If you have a static IP address and your Pesky ISP changes it or you move location you can send us an email at aacm@armygame.net and we will change it for you but please dont take this as an open invitation to change constantly cycling dynamic addresses :lol:

Hope this clears up any confusion

Pat

Author:  [Dev]Tear [ Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

Pro tip:
ipchicken.com will let you copy/paste your ip, and it won't assault your browser with ads.

Author:  GBGangsta [ Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

Pfft yep Im a creature of habit :lol: whatismyip is force of habit but your right they have got a bit add spammy so I'll use yours instead.

Author:  GBGangsta [ Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

Just as a follow up to this, while I am happy to help out in certain circumstances, sending emails such as "Change my ip!" is not likely to get responded to all that quickly.

Please make sure there is some context i.e. "My servers IP has changed could you help out and change it for me, my new IP is...?" that way I will know what you are talking about.

Cheers

Pat

Author:  Lilith [ Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

[Dev]Tear wrote:
Pro tip:
ipchicken.com will let you copy/paste your ip, and it won't assault your browser with ads.


I just google "IP Address". it's the first thing before all the other results.

Author:  RayMD [ Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

why does not your auth understand hostnames? that would solve this problems and supports dynamic addresses. And whats about IPv6?

Author:  Lilith [ Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

I haven't done this before with AA, but with another game, I am able to connect via web address. at least, that's hoping the server is the same as the IP of the website. names are easier to remember than numbers, kinda. unless you've got a really awesome sequential IP.

I haven't heard if anyone has done that before. could be worth a shot.

Author:  RayMD [ Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

the dns name just needs to resolved into an IP Address, not so difficult.

I have done this by querying AA3 Server:

http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=stati ... -server.de
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=www.sks-community.net
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=sks-community.net
same like:
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=5.9.14.183

its not a dynamic address but thats not the point, it still a dns name. Resolved into IP and queried the server. If I can do this with PHP, the AA Devs can do it too...

Author:  Lilith [ Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

exactly. that is, assuming some of those servers have the dns name. but, this should be simple to implement.

Author:  GBGangsta [ Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing

RayMD wrote:
why does not your auth understand hostnames? that would solve this problems and supports dynamic addresses. And whats about IPv6?


The simple fact is that the database does not support host names, very few auth systems do.

As far as IPV6 is concerned...that is not something anyone is going to have to worry about for a long time.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/