Board index » America's Army: Legacy Versions » AA3 - Server Support




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:35 am 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Just a quick pointer regarding IP addressing for Server and Auth.

The IP Address needs to be a static Public IP address, if you are in doubt as to what your address is you can go to http://www.ipchicken.com and it will tell you.

Dynamic IP addresses whilst technically speaking are public IP addresses, in the context of servers are not suitable. This is for two reasons, 1) As soon as your IP address changes no one will be able to access your server and 2) as soon as your IP address changes you will no longer be able to auth against the database.

The same goes for Dynamic DNS as our auth system only understands IP address not host names.

If you have a static IP address and your Pesky ISP changes it or you move location you can send us an email at aacm@armygame.net and we will change it for you but please dont take this as an open invitation to change constantly cycling dynamic addresses :lol:

Hope this clears up any confusion

Pat

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline
Developer
Developer

Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 346
Location: Earth
Pro tip:
ipchicken.com will let you copy/paste your ip, and it won't assault your browser with ads.

_________________
Shoot, move, and communicate.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:18 pm 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Pfft yep Im a creature of habit :lol: whatismyip is force of habit but your right they have got a bit add spammy so I'll use yours instead.

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:46 pm 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Just as a follow up to this, while I am happy to help out in certain circumstances, sending emails such as "Change my ip!" is not likely to get responded to all that quickly.

Please make sure there is some context i.e. "My servers IP has changed could you help out and change it for me, my new IP is...?" that way I will know what you are talking about.

Cheers

Pat

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:35 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: United States
[Dev]Tear wrote:
Pro tip:
ipchicken.com will let you copy/paste your ip, and it won't assault your browser with ads.


I just google "IP Address". it's the first thing before all the other results.

_________________
Image
Civilian Team 1 - Leader, S-1 Staff, Recruiter
Cheezburger Operator (H) since 2007


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:50 pm
Posts: 510
Location: /dev/null
why does not your auth understand hostnames? that would solve this problems and supports dynamic addresses. And whats about IPv6?

_________________
If Ray works, it will work!
Linux is like a wigwam: No windows, no gates, apache inside.
No trespassing! Violators will be shot, survivors will be shot again.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:35 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: United States
I haven't done this before with AA, but with another game, I am able to connect via web address. at least, that's hoping the server is the same as the IP of the website. names are easier to remember than numbers, kinda. unless you've got a really awesome sequential IP.

I haven't heard if anyone has done that before. could be worth a shot.

_________________
Image
Civilian Team 1 - Leader, S-1 Staff, Recruiter
Cheezburger Operator (H) since 2007


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:50 pm
Posts: 510
Location: /dev/null
the dns name just needs to resolved into an IP Address, not so difficult.

I have done this by querying AA3 Server:

http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=stati ... -server.de
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=www.sks-community.net
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=sks-community.net
same like:
http://www.raymd.de/AA3Server/?IP=5.9.14.183

its not a dynamic address but thats not the point, it still a dns name. Resolved into IP and queried the server. If I can do this with PHP, the AA Devs can do it too...

_________________
If Ray works, it will work!
Linux is like a wigwam: No windows, no gates, apache inside.
No trespassing! Violators will be shot, survivors will be shot again.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:35 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: United States
exactly. that is, assuming some of those servers have the dns name. but, this should be simple to implement.

_________________
Image
Civilian Team 1 - Leader, S-1 Staff, Recruiter
Cheezburger Operator (H) since 2007


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dev Tip : IP Addressing
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:38 pm 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
RayMD wrote:
why does not your auth understand hostnames? that would solve this problems and supports dynamic addresses. And whats about IPv6?


The simple fact is that the database does not support host names, very few auth systems do.

As far as IPV6 is concerned...that is not something anyone is going to have to worry about for a long time.

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » America's Army: Legacy Versions » AA3 - Server Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron