Board index » America's Army: Legacy Versions » AA3 - General Discussion




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:35 am
Posts: 60
I run AA3 just fine..... Windows 8 AMD FX8350, Radeon 7850 HD and 16 gb dr3 1600 MHz ram. I've had a couple of slow downs here and there but it's not anywhere near unplayable. I attribute that to running off my HDD. Maybe I will install AA4 on the SSD


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:29 am 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
I have to agree, despite the fact that I despise Win8 with every fibre of my being :twisted: , that AA3 and other Steam games have seemed to run fine with it.

If the OP has some issues I suggest that rather than posting here they put a post in the support forums and we can try to help them out.

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:37 pm
Posts: 3247
Image


Last edited by 2K20GB4 on Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:38 am 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Bratwurste wrote:
GBGangsta wrote:
If the OP has some issues I suggest that rather than posting here they put a post in the support forums and we can try to help them out.


The OP would be me?
If yes, no thanks. I have no issues. I just stated some facts. Read please and you will understand why in some situations aa3 is negatively affected with windows 8.
And it´s true, with same environment, some other games have no issues.
Anyways aa3 is past, but if i am allowed, i suggest a change in perspective.
With next version would be positive if the issues, that clients/users are having and bringing to this forum, could be analyzed on a technical perspective instead of blaming in first place the users or users computers. Or else the history will repeat itself.


Sorry Brat this was my bad, I got lost in the thread and should have directed this at navyseels not you. Serves me right for posting before my first coffee :)

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:37 pm
Posts: 3247
Image


Last edited by 2K20GB4 on Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:39 pm
Posts: 320
Location: Independence, MO
Full server 26 players plus 3 in spectate with no framerate drop to speak of at all navyseels. Unless your GPU is 1 GB of DDR5 I'd suspect that's where your problem is. 1 GB of DDR3 can cause problems at settings above medium.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUJ4hDQKrNk&hd=1

This is with everything set to high and weapon blur and vsync turned off.

_________________
Image

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 7:59 am
Posts: 1730
AA3 game is heavily dependent on CPU vs GPU. Im running an i7-3770. I'm not saying the GPU wont affect FPS but it's also dependent on your CPU.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:29 pm 
Offline
AACM
AACM

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 8:00 pm
Posts: 3934
Location: View Unread Posts
Bratwurste wrote:
I am also sorry, i guess i am in the opposite side, i am drinking to much coffee.
My harsh words are totally unjustified, You dont deserve it, i am sorry.

:)


S'all good you grow a thick skin being an AACM ;)

_________________
Image - Image - Image - Image - Image - Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:51 pm
Posts: 69
Turbenator wrote:
AA3 game is heavily dependent on CPU vs GPU. Im running an i7-3770. I'm not saying the GPU wont affect FPS but it's also dependent on your CPU.

Same can be said with aa2, the processor was much more important than the graphics card


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 vs America's Army 3
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:37 pm
Posts: 3247
Image


Last edited by 2K20GB4 on Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Board index » America's Army: Legacy Versions » AA3 - General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: